Berlin Part-Time MBA

  • Degree

    Master of Business Administration (MBA)

  • Type of Study

    part-time

  • Standard period of study

    24 months

  • Programme Start

    October

  • Credits (ECTS)

    90

  • Language of instruction

    English

  • Number of places

    40

  • Application requirements

    completed undergraduate degree, a minimum of three years of relevant work experience, very good knowledge of English

  • Application period

    from 1 December until 22 October

  • Tution fees

    19.800 Euro

  • Accredited by

    AMBA and FIBAA

  • HWR Campus

    Schöneberg

Berlin Part-Time MBA – work alongside the MBA

The Berlin Part-Time MBA offers you all the benefits of the HWR Berlin MBA (School of Economics and Law) – but in a part-time format. You can remain dedicated to your career, truly enhancing it by studying for the MBA. You will be fully equipped for new career goals with an international perspective, all the while refining your individual strengths.
Studying the MBA at the Berlin Professional School offers you:

  • Blocks of attendance phases
  • Profound, wide-ranging, practical knowledge of the fundamentals of management
  • Opportunities to focus on individual interests in certain industries and regions via elective modules, pursue your own desired career goals
  • A dedicated Career Service and a strong network

Programm Structure

The Berlin Part-Time MBA commences in October annually. It runs alongside your career over the course of 24 months. The attendance phases are divided in the 1st Academic Year into 3 weeks (all from Saturday to Saturday) and 8 attendance blocks (Thursday evenings through to, and including, Sundays). And in the 2nd Academic Year they are divided into 9 attendance blocks at the weekend (normally Friday evening to Sunday).

  • Phase 1: In core modules, you acquire fundamental management skills
  • Phase 2: Electives allow you to specialise on the world stage in Asia or the USA, and in determined topic areas, such as transformation management or digital leadership
  • Phase 3: You will undertake a master thesis as a Company Project with a clear-cut application, perfectly rounding off your skills

Programme Content

The Berlin Part-Time MBA, taught through English, is the perfect combination of theory and practice. It will set you on the direct path to furthering your leadership skills. The core modules in the first study section lay the foundations of key management knowledge. All areas and exterior interfaces of a company are dissected, while training you to orient your thinking around processes and solutions at all times.
Elective modules allow you to specialise in specific tasks, while study trips within Europe, to Asia or the USA prepare you for the international management field in a very practical, captivating and focussed way. You will become an expert of the parameters, strategies and tools of multinational corporations. Be prepared to guide your company through transformation management, tackling processes of change in a dynamic, agile way. Actively leading these processes at the very forefront, in the face of all competition will be your norm. Modules such as Digital Business Leadership or Entrepreneurship and Innovation will also push you to take on dynamic challenges and teach you agility in the digital age.
From the teaching style right through to the lecturers, the MBA focuses consistently on practical, hands-on experience. Corporate projects, case studies, current living case studies, job-based project and group work, business simulations plus presentations from corporate leaders from select enterprises all form integral course components.

Download the Curriculum here

A great benefit was the hands-on transfer of knowledge from the non-technical field and the development of skills into a multicultural environment. Learning outside the textbooks a. exchanging different perspectives was beneficial

Mark Reddehase, MBA (Consultant Lean & Industrie 4.0,ZF Group)
  • Completed university degree
  • At least three years’ professional experience following the primary university degree
  • very good knowledge of English (minimum scores - TOEFL: cbt 213 points or ibt 79 points; IELTS: 6.5 points)

Each year, applications are accepted from 1 December. We recommend applying early as admissions are made on a rolling basis depending on suitability. 40 places are assigned annually for the programme start in October.

If you meet the entry requirements and are interested in applying for the Berlin MBA, please use our online application tool:

HWR Online Application Tool

  • letter of motivation, including professional goals
  • curriculum vitae, preferably in "europass"
  • copy of  passport
  • passport photo
  • certification of eligibility for university education (e.g. Abitur/A-levels)
  • certification of university degree: BA / MA / Diploma
  • employment testimonials
  • certificates of English language competence (e.g. TOEFL certificates or the BULATS Business Language Testing Service at the Berlin School of Economics and Law)

Please submit formally certified copies only.

Certificates and other documents which are not in English nor in German must be translated into one of these languages. Translations must be formally certified and attached to the documents.

If you are applying from a non-European country, you will need to allow for the time to have your visa processed (approx. 4-6 months).

Tuition Fees - an investment in your future

The tuition fees for the Berlin Part-Time MBA is 19.800 Euro. This includes:

  • All study costs, from matriculation to modules and teaching materials, right through to exam charges
  • Leadership & Management Skills Seminare
  • Excursions and Study Visits according to the study plan for the Berlin Full-Time MBA
  • Welcome Service for international students
  • Career Service and Events

Tuition fee can be paid in installments, which you can view in the schedule of fees. We would be happy to advise you personally!

Download the schedule of fees here

As the programme has been approved as a course of further education in accordance of the Berlin Law of Higher Education, tuition fees are normally tax deductible.

Over 3000 alumni from more than 30 nations, and another 200 students joining annually. That is the worldwide Berlin Professional School alumni network, consisting of specialists from infinite industries and companies. As part of this international community, you will gain access to BPS alumni groups on XING and LinkedIn.
You will also automatically receive invitations to BPS alumni events including our homecoming event or the X-Mas Punch.

You have studied at the Berlin Professional School or at the IMB Institute of Management or the Institute of Distance Learning at HWR Berlin? Then you can register for our Alumni Network here.

On graduating from BPS, you’re drawing a new hand of cards for your career. Yet we understand that questions about reorientation, career strategies and development are almost as important as the study programme itself.

We want to support you in identifying your career goals and efficiently pursuing them by providing you personal, confidential advice. Through one-to-one conversations, we will work together to develop measures to guide you in practically implementing your goals, both during your studies and beyond.

We teach you how to structure and put together professional applications, both in a domestic and international context. You will be given individual feedback on the application documents submitted beforehand and learn how to improve them.
We will also discuss objectives, structure and typical questions in interviews and you will practice in plenary assemblies or small groups.

Your CV is the core of your application. The Career Service actively supports you through application processes with a complimentary CV check. Together, we will make your strengths and experience truly stand out.

During Graduate Talks yesterday's graduates show today's students the opportunities they could have tomorrow.
Through these talks, you will get to know companies from different industries and receive first-hand tips on how to successfully launch your career in Germany.
The participating graduates have either found their feet in the vibrant Berlin start-up scene or in large companies. Montredo, idealo, Blacklane, Delivery Hero, Bombardier, Zalando and Vodafone are among those represented.

By virtue of a varied programme of company visits, you will gain insight into the everyday management life during your studies. Not only do company visits form an integral part of the course, they also provide the opportunity to gain a first-hand impression of a company. You will meet company representatives in person.

Have you ever imagined that an employer would want to introduce themselves to you? Even if it’s not something often verbalised, company presentations like to demonstrate how attractive they are as an employer to businesses via projects and presentations.
Studying at the BPS makes it crystal clear that you want more. Graduating proves that you can do more. This combination of desire and expertise will make you sought-after by any company. And now, you can see how interesting our partner companies are.

Berlin Part-Time MBA

  • Studienabschluss

    Master of Business Administration (MBA)

  • Studienform

    berufsbegleitend

  • Regelstudienzeit

    24 Monate

  • Studienbeginn

    Wintersemester

  • Leistungspunkte (ECTS Credits)

    90

  • Unterrichtssprache

    Englisch

  • Studienplätze

    40

  • Zulassungsvoraussetzungen

    abgeschlossenes Erststudium, mind. 3 Jahre Berufserfahrung, Englischkenntnisse

  • Bewerbungszeitraum

    ab 1. Dezember

  • Studienentgelt

    19.800 Euro

  • Akkreditiert von

    AMBA und FIBAA

Berlin Part-Time MBA – Berufsbegleitend zum MBA

Der Berlin Part-Time MBA bietet Ihnen das volle Programm des MBA der HWR Berlin – nur in Teilzeit. So können Sie den MBA berufsbegleitend studieren und sich auf neue Karriereziele mit internationaler Ausrichtung und individuellen Schwerpunkten vorbereiten.
Das MBA-Studium der Berlin Professional School bietet Ihnen:

  • Geblockte Präsenzphasen
  • Vertiefte, generalistische und praxisorientierte Grundlagen des Managements
  • Die Möglichkeit, über Wahlmodule individuelle Schwerpunkte auf Branchen und/oder Regionen zu setzen und so Ihre individuellen Karriereziele zu verfolgen
  • Begleitenden Career Service und ein starkes Netzwerk

Studienablauf

Der Berlin Part-Time MBA startet jährlich im Oktober. Er läuft berufsbegleitend über 24 Monate. Die Präsenzphasen gliedern sich in 4 Präsenzwochen (jeweils von Samstag bis Samstag) und 11 Präsenzblöcke (Donnerstagabend bzw. Freitagabend bis einschließlich Sonntag).
1. Phase: In Kernmodulen erlernen Sie grundlegende Managementkenntnisse
2. Phase: Über die Wahlmodule können Sie sich z.B. auf Asien oder die USA oder auf Themengebiete wie z.B. Transformation Management oder Digital Leadership spezialisieren
3. Phase: Masterarbeit als Company Project mit konkretem Anwendungsbezug

Studieninhalte

Der Berlin Part-Time MBA vereint Theorie und Praxis und begleitet Sie auf dem Weg Ihre Führungskompetenzen (weiter-)zuentwickeln. Die Kernmodule des ersten Studienabschnitts legen mit grundlegenden Kenntnissen des Managements die Basis: Sie behandeln alle Bereiche eines Unternehmens sowie seine Schnittstellen nach außen und schulen gleichzeitig eine prozess- und lösungsorientierte Denkweise.
Wahlmodule geben Ihnen die Möglichkeit, sich auf spezifische Aufgaben zu spezialisieren. Studienreisen innerhalb von Europa, nach Asien oder in die USA bereiten Sie gezielt und praxisnah auf den Bereich International Management vor. Sie lernen Rahmenbedingungen, Strategien und Tools multinationaler Konzerne kennen. Mit "Transformation Management" helfen Sie Ihrem Unternehmen dynamisch und agil mit Veränderungsprozessen umzugehen oder sie aktiv einzuleiten und sich damit an die Spitze der Konkurrenz zu setzen. Auch mit Modulen wie "Digital Business Leadership" oder "Entrepreneurship and Innovation" stellen Sie sich dynamisch wechselnden Herausforderungen und schulen Ihre digitale Agilität.
Von den Lehrformaten bis zu den Dozierenden ist der MBA durchweg auf die Praxis ausgerichtet. Unternehmensprojekte, Fallstudien, aktuelle Living Cases, berufsbezogene Projekt- und Gruppenarbeiten, Business Simulations sowie Vorträge von Führungskräften ausgewählter Unternehmen sind integraler Bestandteil des Studiums.

Studien- und Prüfungsplan zum Download

Developing your Leadership personality!

In Leadership Personality-Seminaren werden persönliche, kommunikative sowie soziale Fähigkeiten vertieft. Sie können je nach Bedarf und Interessenslage aus einem Angebot von verschiedenen berufsrelevanten Skill Seminaren wählen, z.B. Präsentationstechniken, Teambuilding, Zeit- und Selbstmanagement, Negotiating across Cultures oder Assertiveness.

<svg> <use xlink:href="/typo3conf/ext/hwrbase/Resources/Public/Images/icons.svg#big-down"></use> </svg>

A great benefit was the hands-on transfer of knowledge from the non-technical field and the development of skills into a multicultural environment. Learning outside the textbooks and exchanging different perspectives was beneficial for self-development.

Mark Reddehase, MBA (Consultant Lean & Industrie 4.0,ZF Group)
  • Abgeschlossenes Hochschulstudium
  • Mind. drei Jahre Berufserfahrung nach dem ersten Hochschulabschluss
  • Nachweis über Englischkenntnisse auf Niveaustufe C1

Bewerbungen werden laufend entgegengenommen. Wir empfehlen eine frühzeitige Bewerbung, da die Zulassungen bei Eignung im „rollenden Verfahren“ ausgesprochen werden. Es werden jedes Jahr zum Wintersemester 40 Studienplätze vergeben.

Wenn Sie sich bewerben möchten, nutzen Sie bitte unser Online-Bewerbungsportal unter dem folgenden Link:

HWR Online-Bewerbungsportal

Beim Ausfüllen Ihrer Online-Bewerbung werden Sie gebeten, die folgenden Unterlagen hochzuladen:

  • Arbeitszeugnisse und ggf. Referenzen
  • tabellarischer Lebenslauf, vorzugsweise im Format „europass“
  • Motivationsschreiben unter Berücksichtigung Ihrer beruflichen Ziele
  • Nachweis über gute Englischkenntnisse (Niveaustufe C1 nach dem GeR, z.B. durch TOEFL oder den BULATS Business Language Testing Service an der HWR Berlin)
  • Zeugnis des Hochschulabschlusses
  • Zeugnis der Hochschulzugangsberechtigung (Abitur, A-Level)
  • Kopie des Reisepasses oder Personalausweises

Bitte senden Sie uns keine Originalunterlagen.

Zeugnisse, die weder in deutscher noch in englischer Sprache abgefasst sind, müssen in eine dieser Sprachen übersetzt werden. Die Übersetzung muss offiziell beglaubigt und in diesem Fall im Original beigefügt werden.

Bewerber/innen aus dem nicht-europäischen Ausland sollten bei der Planung berücksichtigen, dass die Visaformalitäten vier bis sechs Monate in Anspruch nehmen können.

Studienentgelt - Eine Investition in Ihre Zukunft

Das Studienentgelt für den Berlin Part-Time MBA beträgt 19.800 Euro.
Darin enthalten sind:
•    Sämtliche Studienkosten von der Immatrikulation über die Module sowie die begleitenden Unterrichtsmaterialien bis hin zu Prüfungs- und Abschlussgebühren
•    z.B. Career Service und Events
Wir bieten verschiedene Finanzierungsoptionen an, die Sie der Entgeltordnung entnehmen können. Gerne beraten wir Sie persönlich!

Die Entgeltordnung zum Download

Über 3 000 Alumni aus über 30 Nationen und jedes Jahr kommen mehr als 200 Studierende hinzu. Das ist das weltweite Alumni-Netzwerk der Berlin Professional School aus Fach- und Führungskräften unzähliger Branchen und Unternehmen. Als Teil dieser internationalen Community haben Sie Zugang zu den Alumni-Gruppen der BPS auf XING und LinkedIn. Außerdem erhalten Sie automatisch Einladungen zu den Events der BPS wie unserem Homecoming Event oder dem X-Mas Punch.

Wenn Sie an der Berlin Professional School (oder den Vorgängerinstituten IMB Institute of Management Berlin und Fernstudieninstitut) studiert haben, können Sie sich hier jederzeit für das Alumni-Netzwerk anmelden.

Mit einem Abschluss der BPS werden die Karten für gewöhnlich neu gemischt. Fragen der Neuorientierung, von Karrierestrategien und der Karriereentwicklung sind dabei ebenso präsent wie das Studium selbst.

Mit einer persönlichen, vertraulichen Beratung möchten wir Sie dabei unterstützen, Ihre Karriereziele zu identifizieren und effizient zu verfolgen. Im Rahmen individueller Gespräche erarbeiten wir gemeinsam mit Ihnen Maßnahmen zur konkreten Umsetzung Ihrer Ziele für die Zeit während des Studiums und danach.

Wir vermitteln Ihnen Kenntnisse über Struktur und Aufbau von professionellen Bewerbungsunterlagen im nationalen und internationalen Kontext. Sie erhalten ein individuelles Feedback zu den im Vorfeld eingereichten Bewerbungsunterlagen und lernen, wie diese optimiert werden können.
Darüber hinaus diskutieren wir Ziele, Struktur und typische Fragestellungen in Bewerbungsgesprächen und trainieren sie im Plenum oder in Kleingruppen.

Ihr CV ist das Herzstück Ihrer Bewerbung. Mit einem kostenfreien CV-Check unterstützt der Career Service Sie aktiv im Bewerbungsprozess. Wir schauen uns gemeinsam an, wie Sie Ihre Stärken und Erfahrungen herausragend zur Geltung bringen können.

Graduate Talks nennen wir Veranstaltungen, in denen Graduates von gestern den Studierenden von heute zeigen, wie morgen ihre Möglichkeiten aussehen.
In Graduate Talks lernen Sie Unternehmen aus verschiedenen Branchen kennen und bekommen Tipps aus erster Hand, wie Sie erfolgreich einen Job in Deutschland finden.
Die teilnehmenden Graduates haben ihren Platz in der Berliner Start-up-Szene und in großen Unternehmen gefunden. Vertreten sind u. a. Montredo, idealo, Blacklane, Delivery Hero, Bombardier, Zalando und Vodafone.

Sie erhalten während Ihres Studiums über ein vielseitiges Programm an Unternehmensbesuchen Einblicke in den Managementalltag. Die Company Visits sind teilweise integraler Bestandteil des Studiums. Aber auch darüber hinaus haben Sie die Möglichkeit, sich direkt im Unternehmen einen Eindruck zu verschaffen und mit Unternehmensvertreterinnen und -vertretern in persönlichen Kontakt zu treten.

Hätten Sie es für möglich gehalten, dass sich ein Arbeitgeber bei Ihnen vorstellen will? Auch wenn es vielleicht nicht laut ausgesprochen wird: Company Projects und Company Presentations bieten Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, sich bei Ihnen als attraktive Arbeitgeber zu präsentieren.
Mit einem Studium an der BPS zeigen Sie, dass Sie mehr wollen. Mit einem erfolgreichen Abschluss belegen Sie, dass Sie mehr können. Die Kombination aus Wille und Wissen macht Sie für jedes Unternehmen interessant. Lassen Sie sich nun überzeugen, wie interessant unsere Partnerunternehmen sind.